Image

Morning Magic

I remember once, my son at a wrestling meet. There was some confusion, and so as he sat, visiting with friends, he was shocked to hear his name over the loud-speaker. It seemed his opponent and the officials were all  waiting for him, as he made a mad dash to the mat, and hurriedly ripped his shirt and shorts off.

The match was over in seconds, with my son finding himself stuck to the mat like a butterfly pinned to styrofoam. My husband shook his head, he wasn’t ready-he had no time to prepare. And that was exactly it.

 

butterly pinning

pictured: my son, Gage, after not being prepared.

 

My son would meet up with this same opponent a few weeks later, to earn a much better result. The difference? Being prepared. If you’ve ever watched a wrestler get ready for a match, you’ll notice they often have headphones on. They may be pacing, or jumping up and down- or just sitting in silence. No matter what those moments before a match look like,  I promise you that every successful wrestler has a routine.

 

DSC_0617 (2)

Gage, in a much better position.

 

I love that I get to use sports metaphors, even though I myself, was a comedy to behold in any arena was never actually a sport person. Herein lies the beauty of my children, who have taught me much more than I could ever teach them.

IMG_3249

Go to any sporting event and watch a team that’s worth its salt-watch how they prepare for competition. My daughter’s softball team generally has this routine:

  • arrive an hour early
  • stretch and warm up your muscles
  • practice the skills needed for the game
  • motivational speech by the coach
  • cheering for themselves and anticipating a win by reminding each other how amazing they are
  • some quiet time in the dugout
  • water drinking

I reckon each day in our life is really the same as preparing for any sporting competition. And how are we grownups doing? Are we running and hustling to start our day? or are we standing still, straight and strong, ready to meet the day head on? I’m here to tell you, I’ve lived life both ways, and the not-hustling way seems to be my favorite.

Morning Magic

So I’ve been holding my own little warm up sessions for each day for the past few years, and for the life of me, I can’t tell you what made me do it-I really can’t remember. But something must have really inspired me to stop hitting the snooze the button. Whatever it was, I’m really grateful, because the difference has been startling, to say the least.

The best way I can put it, is…I always used to feel at the mercy of the day. Who knew what the day might hold? Certainly not me! But I desperately HOPED it would be a good day. And some days were, of course, but most caught me off guard, reminding me of my son when his name was called over the loud-speaker. I often said phrases like, why me? or that’s just my luck….or I just can’t wait for Friday!! or my personal favorite: This day just needs to be over.

girlthinking1

When I started to get up, at least an hour early, I had this feeling of being on top of things. My day started out on purpose and rather than feeling like the day was happening to me, I felt like I was creating my day. What a difference.

me

I hosted a Morning event this summer, and really didn’t know what the responses would be. I mean, 6:30 on a Saturday? Who does that to people, right? But I did, and the feedback was amazing. The women who participated had the most amazing experience, and this has really encouraged me to put together a program for the ladies in my area.

morning magic around the campfire

I’m excited to announce: Dell Rapids Monday Morning Magic!

 

good morning this is god

Basically, our time spent together is dedicated to opening ourselves UP to allowing all the goodness that is trying to make its way TO us.

 

Here’s what it will look like:

Over a period of four consecutive Monday’s……

A 75 minute time space divided into seven sections of:

  1. Meditation/prayer
  2. Light exercise/stretching
  3. Workbook writing
  4. Affirmations
  5. Visualization
  6. Inspirational reading
  7. LaDelle and Fourth Coffee, fruit and camaraderie

If we can start our day in the most positive and intentional of ways, it could just create one of the best days ever. If we could start our week out this way, it might just change everything. 

live less out of habit and more out of intent

I’ve talked a lot about the need for creating a tribe of women who you can be real with, and if you missed that post, you can find it HEREI’m on a mission, and it calls for me to find ways to gather women together-to do good in the world, to be their best selves, and to be on purpose. I’m super excited to create with other amazing souls.

hands

 

I’d also like to announce my new website, Lisa Carr Coaching, where very soon, you will be able to see all of my upcoming events, register AND PAY online. Like how fancy is THAT?! In related news, I’m  having an absolute ball working one-on-one with my coaching clients. Something magical happens when I sit down to create plans and strategies with women who are committed to living their best lives. I really am the luckiest. I hope to see you soon!

rainbow hands

 

 

 

 

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

