Changes in Latitude

It was a scene straight out of Home Alone last night. You remember that one? Crazy people running around, Fuller drinking 2 gallons of soda….the Pizza guy that hits their little garden statue every time? That was our house, minus the extended family with the cheap uncle.  We leave today for sunny beaches and snorkeling in the clear waters of Cancun. It looked like this:

yikes

It sounded like this:

“Mom! I can’t find my white shorts!”

“………….ummmm……in the dryer!”

Littlest marching around in only his pajama bottoms singing at the top of his lungs:

“♫Glory, glory hallelujah! I love presents, what it’s Tooooooooooooooooooooooooo Ya?♫”

“Lis, we’re packing light, right? No need to go crazy….right?” I hear my husband’s reasonable voice from somewhere above my head, most likely in the kitchen.

“Of course!”I holler, looking at my suitcase bulging with hair products and flat irons…(silly man. When’s the last time I went crazy?)

But somehow, despite the chaos and headache-inducing bedlam under the roof of the family Carr last night,

ready to go

We are somehow ready to go. I took Frodo the big black poodle on one last romp through the hills this morning. He’ll be taken care of while we are gone, but I know he, like me, will miss our daily runs in the fresh air. Speaking of air, the temperature was a crisp 23 degrees this morning. RE-freshing!

south dakota winter moring

I couldn’t help but marvel at the life I’m fortunate to live: This morning, cold foggy, crystalized grasses in South Dakota. Tomorrow morning, my feet will squash along in wet sand; the temperature in the high 80’s, and I’ll be smelling ocean water. How wonderful.

Cancun beach (Mexico), August 2006

Cancun beach (Mexico), August 2006 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6 thoughts on “Changes in Latitude

  1. Get out of town 🙂 I can’t even imagine 23 degrees (I am assuming that is farenheit). I don’t think my thermometer goes down that low ;). Have a fab time, looks wonderful!

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

