Leaning on the Everlasting Arms

I have been on a lifestyle change my dear little friends. And let me tell you, it’s been a trip. As most of you are aware…..I am 40. Being 40 …..and going BEYOND 40 is an interesting experience….at least for me. I’ve decided I want to surround myself with people who are on the same path as I am, you know? The path where you are focusing on being your best self. One who doesn’t gossip for a hobby, that tries to make a positive difference in the world, and is someone who you can feel proud of when you look in the mirror. And who is healthy looks hot in a bikini. (Or at the very least….doesn’t send small children running away screaming at the sight of you laying on the beach).

Doesn’t that just tell you how vain I am…at the heart of it? Here it is: The surrounding myself with positive people…..no problem. I got that. I’ve pruned away “fake friends” that talk about you as soon as your back is turned. I’ve put my focus on giving…and found out what a rush that is…the bikini part? That is where I struggle, mona mis.

But no more. I’m working my tush off. Eating healthy and pounding the gravel road behind my house, trying to keep up with Frodo, our pooch. It feels awesome. But I hurt.

AND….there’ve been times where I’ve had to face stressful events like the pop machine at the local gas station cheating me out of my Diet Coke…withOUT the aid of a bag of Doritos. (If you witness this happening….stay away. Keep your distance.)

So, this is where I am guys. My life is a little bit wacko at the moment…cuz I sort of feel like I’m detoxing ….or something. Except I’m not in some fancy resort getting massages and therapy sessions. This is like the Do-It-Yourself NON CELEBRITY version.  My poor family has put up with some rollercoaster mood swings…and a bit of growling from me: But they seem to be surviving bless their little hearts. I miss y’all like craziness. If you don’t hear from me for a while, just know…I’m in the fetal position somewhere….chanting….I don’t need chocolate to have a happy life!

Ok. This song may seem a little wacky, even for me. But my First Born and I fell in love with it  from the movie True Grit.

True Grit (2010 film)

True Grit (2010 film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 This lady Iris…her voice is unique and cool. And it seemed apropos with my struggle lately. Good Lord, am I leanin.

25 thoughts on “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms

  1. Ah, Lis, you’re doing great! How much nicer to go through the detox with the people who love you around you…the ones in your physical space, and the ones in your cyber space! xoxoM

  2. Lis, so nice to hear from you — both here and in our emails. Good luck with this — it sounds wonderful and something I am working on — on a constant (struggle) basis. Be well my friend and I dig the song too. xxoo

  3. Good for you! keep it up….I wish I could have that same frame of mind….I definitely need it. ‘This is like the Do-It-Yourself NON CELEBRITY version.” — too funny!!

  4. Congrats to you on taking control!
    I did the same when I turned 40, some years are more successful than others.
    sometimes you think life isn’t worth living without chocolate or the other goodies but you’ll get a lot more life by being healthy and far more prepared for whatever surprises come your way in life.
    To good health. both physical and mental. 🙂
    Cheers,
    Laura

    • Dear Laura,
      That is so true. Having ugly food addictions only adds to stress….and “surprises”.
      Thanks for the comment. Nice to hear others are actually living proof it’s all worth it!!!
      Love, Lis
      xoxox

  5. I’m 40 also, it’s not so bad.
    Let’s be gym blogging buddies from afar. I go workout, you go workout. Maybe we compare notes, or not.
    I’m heading to the gym {since it’s raining and I hate getting soaked}.
    Hope you have a great weekend.

    • dear Sheila,
      I’m not too complicated with this….I walk/run on the gravel road behind my house. So, I’d probably be pretty boring to compare notes with.
      But good to know someone else is gettin their sweat on!!!
      🙂
      Love, Lis
      xoxox
      p.s. You too!!! Have a good one!

  6. Lis – what a heartfelt message. I loved it! I can feel your struggle. At 45 I made a decision to change me. I did the same detox of people as you. I went to WW and began exercising. I lost 140 lbs and became a runner. Kicking and screaming in the beginning :). It took 3 1/2 years but damn it was worth it. I have kept it off for a year and in that year turned 50. It’s all good. Following your blog I get the awesome sense that you are strong, smart and determined. Don’t go too far, because you are inspiration and a heart warmer! Kathleen (one of the Lipstick Chatters 🙂

    • Dear Kathleen,
      YOU my dear, have just officially made MY DAY!!!
      You have no idea how inspiring your story is to me.
      Thank you for sharing, and visiting, and your kind words…thank you for allll of it!!!!!
      Blessings ♥♥♥
      Love, Lis
      xoxox

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

