It’s happened. The husband and I were actually talking about something other than the small little details of our life. Phrases of our back and forth look something like this:

Are you picking up from practice, or me? Ummmm….did we really need that cowhide rug? Just so you know…you totally snored last night. Where do we keep the flour in this house?!  NO. I had to do it last time. I’m out of clean underwear. Didn’t we pay those guys already? I bought the cowhide rug because it’s so freakin’ AWESOME!

You get the idea. So, when we started talking about books, I got a little bit turned on.

O ya baby!

Until……..The husband boy decided to just be WRONG. And ruined the whole thing.

This is a gorgeous book. I’ve read it twice. There are quotes like this one:

The bank is something else than men. It happens that every man in a bank hates what the bank does, and yet the bank does it. The bank is something more than men, I tell you. It’s the monster. Men made it, but they can’t control it.”

Or this one:

“Okie use’ ta mean you was from Oklahoma. Now it means you’re a dirty son-of-a-bitch. Okie means you’re scum. Don’t mean nothing itself, it’s the way they say it.”     

Or my personal favorite:

The Preacher Laughed Softly.…”You know,” he said, “it’s a nice thing not bein’ a preacher no more. Nobody use’ ta tell stories when I was there, or if they did I couldn’ laugh. An’ I couldn’ cuss. Now I cuss all I want, any time I want, an’ it does a fella good to cuss if he wants to.”

You know? Really good stuff. That makes you wonder about the way our civilization is set up. Makes you see the strength that rests in people, and gets them through horrible times.

This could have been a great conversation; one so deep the ocean woulda been jealous.

But no. The part of this literary classic he dwelled on?

John Steinbeck. What a weird guy. How about the end? Where that girl Breastfeeds the old dude?!  That’s way too strange for me. Seriously, who writes stuff like that?

It may not surprise you to know, I developed a sudden headache.

But, I must admit, I’ve done my Internet surfing homework…and it turns out, many people are completely put off by this book. Not just Mr. Husbandy Husband. So, what do y’all think?English: John Steinbeck

Signature of John Steinbeck
 

Was this guy just an old weirdo? As my husband would like to claim? Or was he an amazing writer …who is famous for a reason?

P.S. it’s ok if you disagree with me. But I need more than….ewwww! Breast feeding an old guy!

16 thoughts on “The Grapes of What?

  1. I like Grapes of Wrath at least the story parts. The other chapters got a little long … but it was an interesting literary device. Having nursed two babies not much about lactation grosses me out. Dare I say this…I actually think it was brave and beautiful. OK totally outed myself as a lactivist! 🙂 when I first read the book in HS I was grossed out by it…now, no so much.

    On a kind of random note I’m reading Travels with Charley right now and just today I was thinking of YOU and how funny and immensely more entertained I would be if you did a blog series Travels with Frodo…I can just see you loading up your shagtastic minivan with Diet Coke and traveling the countryside sharing your funny observations and human encounters! 🙂

    1. Dear Sarah,
      LACTIVIST!!! hahhahaa!!! I love that, friend!
      And, I am quite intriguied by this fine idea of yours.
      Would I have to paint my van?
      I’m not saying I wouldn’t, I just need to get supplies.
      🙂
      Love, Lis
      xoxooxoxx

  2. He was an amazing writer and The Grapes of Wrath was one of the great novels of all time. You are right and your hubby is wrong! The bulk of critical opinion (in addition to mine) is on your side. What a great book!

  3. Dear Lis,
    My heart grows heavy when I read Steinbeck, drearily so. It seems to be wrenched from my chest and drug through blackness. Not my cup of tea…or anything else. Sorry!

    Love you! xoxoM

  4. I love Steinbeck – everything he writes.
    His stories are life lessons we can all learn from.
    Without sadness and struggle, we would never recognize happiness and accomplishment.
    That nursing scene totally depends on how you view you body.
    Mothers who have nursed realize we posess the gift of life in the form of nurshment for those in need.
    I was deeply touched this woman would share her gift to save another’s life.
    BTW, this is our oldest son’s all time favorite book.

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

