A Little Less Conversation

Remember young Elvis? Before he got all crazy and weird and dead? Good Golly, he was hot.

I was thinking. Today is August 1st, and all three of my children go back to school on August 20th. Well, for the Littlest, it’s actually for the first time ever. And for me, it’ll be the first time in 12 years, that I will be left home alone with only Frodo, our dog….and the Middler’s gecko, named Sticky.

All day. Alone.

I have a lot of mixed feelings about it. But, this I know: I will have more time to blog, which is super exciting. You might be whispering under your breath….CRAP! She’ll put out even MORE posts!!!

But, actually, I want to spend more time on each post. More time on my friend’s blogs. Right now, I whip something together..spell check it in the midst of making the 34th peanut butter and honey sandwich of the day, and running children hither thither and wherever it is they need to go. And everyday, I worry I didn’t make it around to all  the other blogs that I enjoy so much.

I have all these amazing ideas I don’t want to forget, because in reality, that’s what this blog is about. Some people journal, others scrapbook, and I sort of do both….just online and for the world to see. I really do want to remember, but most of all, I want my kids and family to know what my thoughts were about so many things. I’m pretty sure I won’t be one of those old people with a mind like a steel trap. The other day, I couldn’t come up with the word “tongs”….as in Salad Tongs. But that’s a whole other post.

I want a written record, like my Mom has. She has journaled all her life, and it is such a treasure. She often says that she remembers writing some of it, thinking…”I”ll never  forget this”…but then she reads it. And she knows she would have forgotten it, if she wouldn’t have written it down.

So, today I was thinking I am kind of like Elvis. Except I can’t curl my lip and I’m not all that fond of anything that’s been Bejeweled.

Stay with me, I’m getting there.

In his older and more whacked out SnoopDog Druggy days, he got kind of chunky. (the bejeweling did NOT help. Those reflective fake gems add 20 pounds to the skinniest person)….and he used to have his personal “Dr”. put him under anesthesia for like 2 weeks at a time. To lose weight.

He wanted to eat his Mama’s fried chicken and grits to his heart’s content without blowing up like a blimp. So he’d pile it in, and then sleep it off. For like 2 weeks or something crazy like that.

I realize it sounds pretty wacky  that I’m telling you this, but I promise you I have a point.

I’ll get metaphorical here. The blog is my Fried Chicken and Grits. I love it so much. In fact, it seems to be getting funner by the moment. But, I only have these few days where my kids are home all day. And I don’t want to be in front of the computer, back and forth between half-cooked hot dogs and reading The Stinky Cheese Man for the 80th time. (Which I love by the way).

I’ll eat a whole bunch of  Southern home cooking….and then sleep for a while. Metaphorically. Well, maybe literally, too. I’m getting super hungry typing this. But I think I’m heading for the all or nothing waters here, at least until school starts.

I love metaphors. And I  love this Elvis one, but I kinda doubt anybody else will get it. Ah well, such is life. It cracks me up. I was scrubbing my stairs because some little person had spilled their freeze pop all over the place when I started laughing out loud. BE Elvis.

Learn from Elvis. No bejeweling….go all out, though. And then sleep it off. It seems a little smart.

Elvis would be proud.

 

16 thoughts on “A Little Less Conversation

  1. Elvis was sexy in his day. Your post was humorous, Lis! I began journalling when I was thirteen. I have so many of them, pages and pages of who I was, what I was going through, how I felt. Some of it sweet, some not so much, and I wonder what I’m going to do with them someday! There are just those of us who have to get those thoughts out of our head before they get too big. I’m one of those and I’m pretty sure you are to.

    Love that song btw. And Elvis. Even when he was cheezy or large, his voice never failed him, but it seems others failed him. Bless his heart. (And that expression is a southern thang too). :).

    • Dear B,
      Yes! Well, bless his little heart!
      hahahha!!!
      Thanks, friend.
      He really was the king.
      I am jealous of your journaling.
      I would love to see what I would have said back then.
      🙂
      Love, Lis
      xoxooxx

  2. Just think how hungry for blogging you’ll be after you’ve been for an Elvis (new, hip, slang word for sleep!). The good news is your bloggy friends won’t fail you Lisa x

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

