Well, this is the last of my KID posts. If you’ve kept up with me, you’ve seen The Firstborn, and the Middler. I stuck them up permanently with a permanent sticking charm on my Home Page.

I figure folks should know what they are getting into before deciding to follow me. Just from these three posts, you can tell a lot about the Party Girl.  I could nutshell it for you.

I believe in God. And I believe there are people….I call them sensitives,  that can tap into the vibrations of the world. The ones most people can’t feel.

And I tend to lean more toward my Grandpa’s take on God.

When my Mom was little, she had many questions about God. Grampa took Mom outside…and knelt down. He scooped up some dark, rich soil. The very soil that he had grown many acres of corn and beans in for the better part of his life.

Me and Grampa

He told her…this is God. He pointed at all the wonders of the world, and continued to say…this is God.

I come from a Catholic family. I honor them by keeping tradition as much as I can.

But I never forget my Grandpa’s description of God.

I’ll take a huge leap here….and say that I believe God put God Energy in each of us. I think that energy was alive and well in this story I tell of my youngest.

My Youngest.

The Littlest

Something was wrong.

But what, I couldn’t be sure.

One day, I realized, I was waiting for him.

I had been told these days were past.

Have you ever missed someone you’ve never met?

I found a prayer in the back of a well-read newspaper at the coffee shop, a novena to Mother Mary.

I stole the newspaper.

Pray it once a day for three days it said.

On the fourth day, your prayer will be answered clearly.

I said it 3 times a day.

For three days.

When something is missing, you’ll do anything to find it.

On the fourth day, my phone went off.

A new voicemail from an old friend.

A garbled message that cut in and out with a song in the background.

One she thought I might like.

You’ll Be Blessed, by Elton John

Hey you, you’re a child in my head

You haven’t walked yet

Your first words have yet to be said

But I swear you’ll be blessed

I know you’re still just a dream

your eyes might be green

Or the bluest that I’ve ever seen

Anyway you’ll be blessed

And you, you’ll be blessed

You’ll have the best

I promise you that

I’ll pick a star from the sky

Pull your name from a hat

I promise you that, promise you that, promise you that

You’ll be blessed

I need you before I’m too old

To have and to hold

To walk with you and watch you grow

And know that you’re blessed

I stopped everything.

I listened.

I cried.

I knew.

2 weeks later I felt dizzy when I stood up from tucking my little girl in for the night.

My blessing was born 8 months later.

When I questioned my friend about the message, I could hear her puzzled expression over the phone.

“Lis…I left you that message 6 months ago!”

11 thoughts on “The Littlest

  1. Beautiful, Lis. Love that God energy thing you speak of. Precious silhouettes of your children and that pic of you and your grandpa — so so sweet! xo

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

