Chocolate Cake

You know where really good recipes come from?

I’ll tell you.

From friends of friends of aunties and grandmas. When my lovely Krissy told me about this one, from her Aunt Cec, I listened. After all, she’s given me nearly all my go-to recipes I pull out to impress guests.

What I loved about this one, is that in Krissy’s family, it’s only for special occasions. This cake is not to be pulled out for just any old Tuesday.

So….if you decide to copy it off (and you’d be bat poop crazy not to) you must promise to only use under these circumstances:

  1. Birthdays
  2. Weddings
  3. Anniversaries
  4. Funerals
  5. Holidays
  6. Vacations
  7. Graduations
  8. The first time you DON’T get carded when buying booze at the local Piggly Wiggly.
  9. The day your baby goes to Kindergarten. Just a warning: this day is coming soon for me. Prepare yourself for drippy, sentimental blog posts.
  10. The day your Middler comes home from camp.

Otherwise, you are just disrespecting the cake.

Chocolate Cake

  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 1 3/4 Cup Flour
  • 3/4 Cup Hershey’s Cocoa
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Cup milk
  • 1/2 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Boiling Water

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans. Combine dry ingredients in large bowl. Add eggs, milk, oil, and vanilla. Beat on medium speed for 2 minute. Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin).

Pour into pans.

Bake 30-35 minutes

Buttercream Frosting

  • 1/2 Cup butter
  • 1/2 Cup Crisco
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla
  • 5 Cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tbsp. Milk

In large bowl, cream butter and shortening with mixer. Add vanilla, gradually add sugar beating well on medium.  Scrape sides often. When all sugar has been mixed in, icing will be dry. Add milk and beat at high speed until light and fluffy. Keep covered with a damp cloth and refrigerate.

*Note: There is a chocolate frosting you can use with this cake. I don’t use it, I use the Buttercream. Chocolate on Chocolate is a little much for my taste.

BUT.

If you are a Psycho Chocoholic:

Perfectly Chocolate Frosting

  • 1 stick Butter
  • 2/3 Cup Cocoa
  • 3 Cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1/3 Cup Milk
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating on medium speed to spreading consistency. Add more milk, if needed. Stir in Vanilla.

*Note: BE careful. This much chocolate has been known to kill people.

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake

  1. What about every day you wake up, and see your loved ones, and laugh with friends, and feel the interconnectedness that makes us all One? What about one of those days? xoxoM 🙂

  2. I don’t have kids, so I’m not going to be able to have this cake on graduations or when my child starts kindergarten or comes home from camp. That’s not fair. But I have three cats. And as it happens, today is the 2nd anniversary of the 4th Tuesday after the Sunday that we adopted one of them. So cake it is. 🙂

    • Dear Madame,
      That’s the spirit!!!!!
      Let them eat CAKE!!!!
      P.S. You do have children. I believe Frodo our dog is my 4th kid. Animals count as kids in my mind♥
      P.S.S. Weebles, you are the funniest lady. You always make me laugh!!!!!

  3. Dear Lisa,

    I don’t understand how you can measure in ‘cups’. What size cups are they? Teacups? Builder’s mugs? Do you have special weighing cups? Why doesn’t America weigh things properly?

    Love Dotty xxx

    • Dear Dotty,
      ahahhaaaaaaaa!!!!!
      You British girls are seriously hilarious!!!
      We have measuring cups.
      This is making me curious about what YOUR recipes look like.
      I did know about the Kilometers/ Miles thing.
      Not about the recipes.
      I’ll try to google.
      🙂
      Love, L
      xoxoox

  4. As you said, this cake is amazing!! And so special that you have made it part of your family traditions! I live that chocolate is another tie that binds us!! Love, Krissy

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

