Black Dog by Led Zeplin (if someone can help me to understand this song, please enlighten me). I’ve never understood it. I just dance to it.

Guess what happens when you start matching up gorgeous pictures with gorgeous words…and kick ass music..that goes with all of it perfectly.

Can you guess?

I’ve been doing this quite a bit lately and I’ve started to go a little crazy. Cuz it’s not really the way I rock n’ roll.

My brain flits around like a happy gerbil on speed. And you better have some coffee before you talk to me on the phone. Only my oldest of friends can keep up.

“So what are you doing today?” old friend asks.

“Oh…we have a few things going on…is your boy going to that football camp?-wait. Do you remember those pink leggings you had in High School?” (this is me talking right here)

“Um. Yes? But-”  old friend stammers

“He IS? how’s he gonna make that happen? I thought he had Basketball Camp?” (me)

“Oh! ..no. He’s not. I meant about the pink leggings!” old friend laughs.

“Seriously sweetheart..you need to focus.”. (me)

“What made you remember those leggings? “poor, poor bewildered friend wonders.

“What? WHAT leggings? Oh. The pink ones. I don’t know. “(gerbil on speed answers)

It’s tough. But I’m a pretty solid friend, as friends go. So my best amigos put up with me.

Today, on my random brain is the subject of total annoyance at THIS occurence happening on blogs. Please tell me if you recognize it.

You get a LIKE from someone you’ve never seen before. Because every LIKE means a lot, you head over to that person’s blog.

After all, this is what WordPress tells you to do. ….”So and So thought Randomocity was pretty awesome. You should go see what they’re up to. Maybe you’ll like their blog as much as they liked yours!”

Sound familiar?

So you do your best impression of a sheep: Baaaaaaaa! ( my friend Sonya can really do this sound well)…and you head on over.

You read their stuff. Wowzers!! Amazing! You scroll down to be the 629th commenter, and can’t help but notice this:

OMG!! thank you Sooooo much for Liking my post! You are amazing!!

I wanted to thank you so much for liking my post on Pot Roast. I came over here, and Wow!! I’m a follower for life!

I can’t believe you liked my post!! I’ve never gotten a like before!! I’m telling all my friends about how YOU liked MY blog!

So..after the 511th comment like these, with NO reply from Mr. Blog LIKER…you start to see exactly what this guy is up to. It’s a ruse. (no. not a ROUSE, right Aussie?)

A ruse to get poor little beginning bloggers over to their fancy and popular blog.

Despicable.

And, I for one refuse to go over and thank someone for LIKING my post.

I’m in the process of writing a short little book I will be selling to beginning bloggers about how not to get fooled by people who clearly did NOT like your post on pot roast, but were just trying to suck you in like a Hoover.

By the way, I just found some pink leggings at the Gap. They totally remind me of something. But, for the life of me…I can’t remember.

15 thoughts on “Randomocity

  1. Dear Lisa,

    Oh, don’t get me started on these people. I got sucked in by a couple of Serial Likers when I first started. They still do it now, click like as soon as your post goes up before I’ve even had chance to read the post to check it’s okay. There are about five or so of these idiots in particular that really wind me up.

    They don’t even come to your blog to read your posts, they just click Like in the Reader, something I’ve NEVER done, I always visit the blogs even if I’m days late to a post.

    It’s rude. Bad manners.

    Love Dotty xxx

  2. I usually do go over and check what they’re up to, and I frequently follow them because I like to see what happens over time. I’ve even unfollowed a couple because they kept crying for comments and then ignored them. We all need a little stroking, a little confidence building, and I’m a great cheerleader – if I do say so myself! I’ve been very lucky in the relationships that have developed and I treasure them. I like to focus on those! You know what they say, Lis, “accentuate the positive, ignore the negative! xoxoM

    1. Dear M,
      I know. It probably seems like I’m being a Negative Nelly.
      I’m not really that upset about it. It’s just an anomaly I have noticed, that makes me roll my eyes…and say..”psh.”
      And I can never keep thoughts to myself.
      I promise to be positive for at least 4 posts!!
      And for real..I totally love 99.9% of the bloggers out here.
      🙂
      Love,
      Lis
      xoxoxoxo

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

