I’ve spent 8 hours today in 90 degree heat at my daughter’s Fastpitch Softball Tournament. I could write many a post just on this experience alone. But I won’t. Cuz I’m tired, and sunburned, and I really need to take a shower.

However, one thing did stand out. I notice, now that I’m a writer..and I use that term loosely…no matter what I’m doing..there’s this one little part of my brain that is always asking..is this blog worthy? And today, it was the not so subtle chanting from the other team that got me creating a post in my head while keeping tracks of runs and doing triage on softball warriors in the dugout.

We put in a new pitcher. And not 2 seconds later we hear…

Check Check Check it out.

Check that brand new pitcher out.

 Is she high, or is she low. Is she fast., or is she slow?

Welcome to the world of Fastpitch. There’s a chant for every possible scenario on the field. They encourage team spirit, create bonding experiences, and many times, they are meant to rattle the other team.

Turnabout is fair play. When in Rome…..

My favorite when one of our girls was up to bat:

Emma’s up to bat to bat

to give the ball a whack a whack

if I were you I’d scootch my booty back

WAY BACK!

 I realized..I’m kind of a new pitcher in this game of writing. People are checking me out, wondering what I’m writing about, and why. I feel intimidated by the bloggers that have hundreds of followers.

When one of our youngest pitchers was watching a pitcher from another team today..all she could say was..”WOW“.  There was a lot she didn’t say, but I could guess at what she was thinking, because I’ve thought all the same thoughts.

They are so good. How can I ever be that good? What if I’m never that good?

And then I remember one my first posts I put together when starting this blog. And I recall the quote that I love so much:

I must create a system or be enslaved by another mans; I will not reason and compare: my business is to create. -William Blake

And I realized that the words I told that new little pitcher today…were words I need to give myself. I don’t remember the exact wording…but it went something like this:

I told her that she may not be that kind of pitcher YET. But, if it’s what she really wants..she can have it, too. If she’s willing to work, and to accept criticism, and to always keep a good attitude, and never stop, she’ll close the gap.

And I looked back at that early post I wrote. The energy behind what I wrote quite a while back,  inspired the words I spoke to the young pitcher today. AND they were the very same words I  needed to hear right now. Try that one out. Weird, huh?

I’m on the pitcher’s mound. Check me out. I may not be throwin my best heat yet. I may not be striking every batter out…but I’m working. I’m creating. I’m not giving up…and I know someday, I’ll close the gap.

9 thoughts on “I must create a system or be enslaved by another mans; I will not reason and compare: my business is to create.

  1. Write for your own enjoyment and people will read and follow. Read and follow other blogs and comment on what you read. Bloggers will normally come and read your stuff if you invite them. Reblog good posts and use some guest bloggers to expand your readership

    1. Dear Roly,

      Thank you:) My company line has always been..

      I want more followers.

      And the real truth is.. that what I really want..is to write so well, that people rush right up to that follow button…cuz they LOVE what I got to say..or at least how I say it. And they are waiting for what else I might have up my sleeve.

      I’m gonna keep workin.

      Thank you for always being so thoughtful and kind, and inspiring to me. 🙂
      Lis

  2. Actually, you are writing your very best heat yet…and tomorrow will be best yet, too…and on and on, because we are ever evolving and creating. Yaaayyyyy!

  3. Sweetling, you don’t need to even compare yourself to other “pitchers”. Do your thing because you love to do it and you will do well. Describing a feeling or perspective gives your readers an additional way to view things or backs up his/her own feelings. You’re creative, wonderful, brave, funny and simply lovely. Keep calling ’em like you see ’em.

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

