Good Advice for Creatives

The other day, I discovered something on my homepage of WordPress. The STAT page. Very interesting. Had no idea it was there. It can tell you how many hits I’ve gotten on my blog….how many per day…and which posts people tend to like the most. I seriously think this thing could tell me what color of underwear my readers are wearing. It’s that good. I’m very glad I found it. And I hate that I found it.

But thankfully, I  found this interview with  Ira Glass not long after, and it was a soothing balm to my itchy brain that kept irritating me with….So…114 hits on Saturday…23 on Sunday. What does that mean? WHAT DOES THAT MEAN??? 1, 935 TOTAL..but no pattern whatsoever. Do they love me only on Saturdays and Tuesdays? Why do they hate me on Sundays and Mondays?

This is for all you CREATIVES out there. Ira’s  advice is pure gold, his self- deprecating humor is refreshing, and I’m printing out this little sign highlighting his main points and taping it to a wall in my house that I look at a lot. The crux of my problem, is that I have killer taste. I really do. I can ferret out the coolest writers, painters; artists of any kind. The problem is I’m in the GAP right now. Which is a place I generally love to hang out. But this GAP has no jeans that make my butt look cute. It’s the GAP between what I know IS good…and where I am right now. I’m ok right now, but I know I can be better. At a lot of things, but in this case, my blog.  I plan to do what Ira says. I’ll do a lot of work. Some of will suck, but someday….it’ll get better, and I’ll close the GAP. Whatever it is that you want to be good at, this is some of the best advice I’ve ever heard.

4 thoughts on “Good Advice for Creatives

  1. I love your writing…..maybe you don’t have as many hits because they read your posts through their e-mail like I do…I get an e-mail every time you post something and I normally open it up through their…who knows…don’t fret my dear friend I think you are so COOL!!!

    • Well Thank you kind friend! The Approval from others is a tricky wicket for me. All in all, I am overwhelmed that I’ve had nearly 2,000 people looking at what I’ve done in a relatively short amount of time. I am humbled by the support I’ve received from friends, and delighted at people I don’t even know, reading and liking what they see. But I do need to remember, it’s my own approval that should reign supreme. But, gawwwwwd, it’s just so much easier when you get awesome compliments like yours. Thank you so much!:)

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

