Day 14

One of my reasons for living.

So, I’m broke. Well, not exactly. But the money I allot myself every week for crazy things like soy chai lattes, fake nails, and colonics…seems to have disappeared like Jimmy Hoffa. O well. Sunny and I made our way  into the city to get a few groceries, and I was feelin a tad sorry for myself that I wouldn’t be able to get my weekly of fix of sushi, miso soup, and seaweed salad at my favoritest little restaurant. I will be telling you more about this enchanting place soon, because it’s fast become something I need to put under the heading of: Things that make me happy to be alive.

 The owners are a couple that have just moved here from California. Apart from the fact that they make the best sushi I have EVER tasted, they are two of the sweetest people you’ll ever know. They truly want you to be happy. I get the feeling they pour all their kindness, love, and sweetness into their food. And you can taste it. Plus, they remind me of a doting grandma who isn’t happy until they think you’ve eaten enough.  If I just order one thing..they insist on giving me one of my other favorites. I can’t be rude..so I smile and say thank you:)

A bowl of miso soup

A bowl of miso soup. Liquid Love.


But no smiling couple today. Cuz I am broke. Or AM I??? As I rummage around in my CD holder in my visor for my Carla Bruni CD…BAM. Seven wrinkled up and crunched dollar bills fall out from behind the CD. Evidently, during one of my more prosperous weeks, I stored up a few extra bills like a squirrel does nuts for winter. Happy Days are here again! As we come off the interstate, and sit at the light, I spy a homeless man hunched over a worn cardboard sign that I can barely make out. Something about heading north, and needing money.  My dreams of sushi and miso soup swam before my eyes…but as I got closer, I knew that $7 fell out for him, not me.

I pulled up and rolled down my window. He seemed disbelieving as walked toward my van. “I’m sorry, it’s not a lot, but I hope it can help you”, I said. I looked right into his eyes, and was shocked to see how blue they were. His face broke into a shy grin. “Thank you so much. I’ve had some hard times. I really appreciate this“, he replied genuinely as he took the bedraggled bills from my outstretched fingers.

Today is one of my favorite gifts thus far. Maybe because, usually I pretend I don’t see these kinds of people. Or, if I do, I give the money without a word, without making  eye contact. When I gave the money today, it felt like I was sacrificing something I’ve come to take for granted. I talked to the man today, tried to send grace to him through my eyes and words. I gave him that money, and  as small an amount as it was, it was my spending cash for the week. And it’s only  Monday.

I say this not to make myself seem like Mother Theresa, but to say…today felt different from other times when I’ve given a few dollars, but still had $20 more in my purse. You know? This was a good day. I’m so fortunate. Always have been, and I truly believe every time we give to those who have fallen upon bad luck, we are becoming the God/Spirit/angels we pray to. We are their hands, eyes, and voice in that moment.

There’s magic in giving, no doubt about it. I picture it like a stream that you can either step into, or stay on the side and watch. In this giving project, It’s as though I’m jumping into the stream, and it’s hard to describe how it feels. Magic is the best word I’ve come up with yet. ♥

11 thoughts on “Day 14

  1. Thanks so much for giving us the gift of your writing! I was a little behind with the posts, but tonight I sat down with a cup of tea and read. You have a great gift. After reading your blog I feel ….inspired… and that is a big deal! So thank you, thank you!

    • Nonono my Italian beauty…I owe many thanks to YOU. This blog thing isn’t exactly what I thought it would be. It’s scary to put myself up on a stage like this. It’s a wierd, vulnerable feeling. So, you taking time out of your busy schedule to ready my little words….THAT’s what’s huge. xoxoxoxo

  2. okay, i’ve gotta get back on this giving train! this is a great one lisa! especially the part about the eye contact…you made a REAL connection with that man and THAT is what it is all about! I can’t wait to discover what I will give today! 🙂

  3. today I gave the gift of forgiveness. I had some things I had been holding onto. Things that an important person to me wasn’t even aware of and that I never brought up to them…yet it was in the back of my mind when we were together…poisoning my thoughts and silently harming our relationship…and so today I released those thoughts and let. them. go. and felt an amazing weight lifted. I don’t think friendship is always about talking everything little thing through…I think sometimes true friendship is when you can decide to just let things go, love each other warts and all and GIVE each other the benefit of the doubt. 🙂

In the latest scientific study, people who comment on blogs are 96% sexier than those who don't.

